Scholarship in African Studies still faces the challenge of capacity building to enhance ownership by authors and institutions from and on the African continent. It also requires more coordinated efforts to provide the deserved space by African authors in the international domain. This award seeks to strengthen efforts to further promote internationally recognised African scholarship in African Studies.

In 2014 the Centre for Africa Studies (CAS) at the University of the Free State (UFS) in Bloemfontein became affiliated with the Africa Europe Group for Interdisciplinary Studies (AEGIS), of which the Institute of African Affairs at the GIGA German Institute of Global and Area Studies in Hamburg is a core member. The GIGA publishes Africa Spectrum, putting out three issues annually. It is listed in the Journal Citation Reports by Thomson Reuters, among other indexes. The journal is also linked to the German African Studies Association (Vereinigung für Afrikawissenschaften in Deutschland, VAD).

Sharing a commitment to African capacity building in African Studies, in 2015 the partner institutions established the first annual

Young African Scholar Award

We again invite authors to submit their articles for consideration, by latest 31 July 2017. Papers should follow the formal guidelines for research articles as specified and be submitted under the section UFS/AS; please register and log in at: http://journals.giga-hamburg.de/index.php/afsp. By October, a review committee comprised of one representative from each partner institution will select the submissions for publication. The selected papers will then go through the journal’s standard double-blind peer-review process and finally also be screened by at least one more member of the journal’s editorial group not involved in the review committee. If accepted, the paper will be published in the journal’s first issue of the following year, jointly with a call for papers pertinent to the next award.

Submission Criteria

Those eligible to submit are postgraduate students nearing completion of their PhD theses and postdoctoral scholars within five years of having been awarded their PhD at the time of the submission deadline. Authors should be from Africa or affiliated with African institutions. Scholars affiliated with the CAS are ineligible.


Scholars who have been published under the auspices of the Young African Scholar Award will receive a three-year affiliation with the CAS as a Research Fellow (without remuneration) in recognition of the achievement and prize money of ZAR 5,000 (five thousand South African rand), sponsored by the UFS.


Imprint Logo von Hamburg University Press und der Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg Carl von Ossietzky Logo des GIGA-Institut Logo der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft Logo der Vereinigung für Afrikawissenschaften in Deutschland e.V. Logo der Leibniz-Gesellschaft